The role of the EMR Settlement Board

The EMR Settlement Board is responsible for our corporate governance and oversees our procurement and contract management processes.

The four members of the Board have a strong mix of multi-disciplinary experience, particularly in the fields of financial settlement and electricity industry governance.

Simon joined the company as Chief Executive Officer on 4 April 2022.

He was previously the CEO of the human rights platform Sedex and the Chief Technology Officer at the UK domain name registry and technology firm Nominet.

Simon has 30 years’ experience in delivering operational, technology and growth strategies for UK and international businesses. Over the last 10 years, Simon has also worked in a non-executive capacity in the charity and sporting sectors.

Sara was appointed to the Elexon Board on 6 March 2019. Sara was Political & Regulatory Affairs Director at E.ON in the UK until November 2020.

Sara started her career as a lawyer at Slaughter and May before moving to Powergen (as it then was) as a competition lawyer. She subsequently broadened her experience through taking on a number of additional responsibilities such as regulation, compliance, energy policy, and external affairs including CSR, legal and company secretariat, HSSE and engineering governance. She was appointed to the E.ON UK Board as Strategy & Regulation Director in 2012.

Matthew is the Managing Director of EMRS and was appointed to the EMRS Board in July 2021.

He has extensive experience in Corporate Finance and a strong track record of delivering major transformation and financing programmes. Matthew transferred to the utility sector in 2015 where he led the set-up of the EMR settlement services for Low Carbon Contracts Company Ltd.

He joined Elexon in 2018 to oversee EMR Settlement Limited (EMRS) and ensure that EMRS continues to operate at a high standard and deliver a significant amount of change as the EMR schemes and associated services mature.

Tim is part of the founding Board and senior Non-executive Director at the recently formed agriculturally focussed Oxbury Bank Plc where he chairs both Audit committee and Remco.  He is also a senior advisor to Reply Group, a digital services, technology and consultancy multi-national company.

Previously he was a Non-executive Director and Audit committee chair at Pay.UK, as well as CEO at the UK high value payment operator CHAPS. Tim has also held a variety of senior executive positions in HSBC in the UK and overseas, as well as senior advisory roles in the Bank of England and London Metal Exchange. His experience brings a broad range of competencies focusing on business transformation, critical national infrastructure, regulatory engagement, and systemic and operational risk.

Michael was appointed as the Chair of the Elexon Board and Balancing and Settlement Code (BSC) Panel in October 2013 and reappointed for three more years in November 2016 and again in 2019.

He spent 11 years at director level with Powergen and has since held a number of other roles He was chairman of the Government’s independent Regulatory Policy Committee from 2009-2017, and in 2007 was the author of the government-sponsored review (the Gibbons Review) of Employment Dispute Resolution Regulations. Michael relinquished chairmanship of the Carbon Capture and Storage Association in 2018. He was President of the Energy Industries Club from 2017 to 2019.

He was appointed to Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for services to regulatory reform in 2008 and the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2015.

He is a Fellow of the Energy Institute (FEI).